Discovering Great Mormon Buildings

Clearfield Ward Exterior


I don’t have much info on this building yet, but will be researching some of its history in the next week. My guess is it was built in the early 1900’s. It has probably been vacant and in disrepair for many years, especially as the homes and town moved away from Main street. I am surpised it is still standing at all, considering the industrialized neighborhood. A wonderful building, though.

Here is a 1935 painting of the building by LeConte Stewart
Utah State Historical Society photo of building

380 S Main St
Clearfield, UT
Built ??
Now vacant and in great disrepair, used for storage
Map Location of Building

7 responses

  1. CatherineWO

    Such beautiful brickwork. Thank you for posting this..

    October 4, 2012 at 6:48 pm

  2. Tyler

    I can’t wait to find out if you learn anything about it. I’ve wondered about it since we moved to Clearfield several years ago, but nobody I ask seems to know anything about it….

    October 4, 2012 at 9:16 pm

  3. Heidi

    I’m also interested to learn more about this building. I’ve lived just over a mile away from it for a couple years now and have never known it was there. Love this blog and appreciate the effort you put into it!

    October 8, 2012 at 11:03 am

  4. Leo

    To LeConte Stewart,
    I just saw this site when looking at another building, but I do know some of the history of this Clearfield building and would be happy to talk about it. Thanks.

    April 16, 2015 at 10:16 am

    • JB

      Please share what you know. I do know that my Mom and her siblings attended church there and I remember her saying that it was such a shame that the church allowed it to fall into such disrepair. She is now 83 and still talks about going to church and working at the Navy depo. She did tell me that she remembers there were some LDS Italian WW2 POW’s who were allowed to attend services in there and that she and her friends thought they were so handsome.

      September 29, 2015 at 8:13 am

  5. Clint Adams

    Have been very intrested in this church since I was a kid Was wondering who owns it today?

    August 12, 2018 at 2:00 pm

  6. Mikeal Hollen

    Hi, my name is Mikeal Hollen.
    I have been restoring this building for just a couple years now.
    I am doing my best to purchase and restore.
    My vision is an art and music community center for all ages.

    January 13, 2024 at 1:43 am

Leave a comment